Posted by Imperator on February 15th, 2013
Old Funeral compilation out now

When discussing the early years of Norwegian Black Metal, there are a few band names that always manage to crop up sooner or later, either due to being a direct musical influence on the scene or simply because they featured musicians who later became key figures in Norwegian Black Metal.

Old Funeral were active from 1988 to 1992 and belong to both of these categories, because in addition to being one of the very first Norwegian Death Metal bands, they are also known these days for having featured several members in their line-up who would later go on to become pioneers of Norwegian Black Metal.

Varg Vikernes from Burzum and Mayhem fame played guitar in Old Funeral during 1990, while Olve "Abbath" Eikemo and Harald "Demonaz" Nævdal, both founding members of Immortal, also played in Old Funeral at different times between 1988 and 1990. Jørn Inge Tunsberg, today famous for playing in Hades / Hades Almighty, also played with Old Funeral between 1991 and 1992.

The compilation album is titled "Our Condolences (1988 - 1992)" and includes an extensive collection of material spanning the band's entire career, including exclusive material that has never been released before. Here is the list of contents according to Soulseller Records:

- The first 7 demo recordings never released before except for the 50 original cassette copies from 1989.
- Live recording from Garage, Bergen, Norway in April 1991. Never released in any format before.
- The "Abduction Of Limbs" 1990 Demo.
- The "Devoured Carcass" 7" 1991 EP.
- The track "Forced To Be Lost" 1991 recorded in Grieghallen.
- The September 1992 advance tape.
- Live track from Hulen, Bergen, Norway 1991.
- Vinyl Gatefold / CD booklet includes original democover artwork + flyers + never before seen pictures including the very first photo session from May 1988.

Here is the complete track list:

Disc 1 / Side A:

  1. Intro
  2. Aphis
  3. Hell
  4. Grandma is a Zombie
  5. Persecuted by Death
  6. Disgusting Kind of Love
  7. The Day of Judgement
  8. Judged by Appearance (Agathocles cover)
  9. Haunted
  10. Skin and Bone
  11. Abduction of Limbs
  12. Devoured Carcass
  13. Nocturnal Hell (Slaughter cover)
  14. Incantation

Disc 2 / Side B:

  1. Abduction of Limbs
  2. Annoying Individual
  3. Skin and Bone
  4. Haunted
  5. Incantation
  6. Devoured Carcass
  7. Forced to be Lost
  8. Alone Walking
  9. Lyktemenn
  10. Into Hades
  11. My Tyrant Grace
  12. Devoured Carcass (Live at Hulen, 1991)

Old Funeral - Our Condolences is now available on in both vinyl and CD formats.

1 Comment for 'Old Funeral compilation out now'
#1 By Jakal on Feb 16th, 2013 @ 7:30 GMT

good stuff!

Leave a comment for 'Old Funeral compilation out now'
Name: *
Comment: *
Spam, off-topic or abusive comments will be removed.
Remaining characters:
* Required
I accept the Privacy Policy
Leave this field empty:
Similar news
On This Day
September 19th
Brazilian guitarist Roberto de Almeida, known for his work with Imperium Tenebrae, Impiedoso and Luciferiano, committed suicide.

2001: Solefald released "Pills Against the Ageless Ills", their third full-length album.

2002: Brazilian guitarist Roberto de Almeida, known for his work with Imperium Tenebrae, Impiedoso and Luciferiano, committed suicide. (Pictured)

2005: Arcturus released "Sideshow Symphonies", their fourth studio album.

2011: Taake released "Noregs Vaapen", their fifth studio album.

Sign up to our newsletter
Poll #6

Mobile Usability: Do you use the site from your phone?

Report an error

Use this form to report any errors, bugs or incorrect information on this page:

Leave this field empty:
Remaining characters:
Site Summary

Last album update: September 15th, 2020
Last news update: June 26th, 2020

Visitors online: 6

Total albums: 57,020
Total reviews: 0
Total news items: 365
Total band profiles: 42

Click here for full database statistics.